Songs to heal a broken heart – the eye of the paradox

I’m constantly amazed by the way in which the breakup, though deeply painful, has strengthened me and given me a stronger grasp on who I am. It’s a theme that runs through this blog, eg. taking a risk, masks and fears, or, on a more poetic level phoenix tears and heartsong.

This song text, another one for the set of songs I plan to call songs to heal a broken heart, tries to capture that feeling – anger and hurt mixed with a genuine gratitude and sense of strength.

I wrote two versions of this one. I think the second one works better as a poem but the first one will be the better song – what do you think?

The eye of the paradox- version 1

How can doubt give rise to trust?
Or rejection kindle love?
Silence free a voice to speak?
Or dishonesty disclose the truth?

Searching outside for the answers, I was simply walking blind
Not knowing that the replies that I needed were all inside my mind.

At first your doubt destroyed my trust
Your rejection broke my heart
The silence you wanted stifled me
Your dishonesty broke my truth

And in searching outside for the answers, I was simply walking blind
Until at last I began to seek for the answers inside my own mind.

Your doubt taught me to trust myself
Your rejection, how to love
Your silence helped me find my voice
Your dishonesty revealed my truth

No more searching outside for the answers, no more walking lost and blind
For all the replies that I needed were there inside my mind.

Now I thank you for your doubt
I’m glad you rejected me
Now I’m grateful for your silence
And the deception that set me free

No more searching outside for the answers, no more walking lost and blind
I have all the answers that I need, safe in my own mind.

The eye of the paradox – version 2

In the face of your doubt
I quailed, and then…
I learnt to trust myself

In the face of your rejection
I wept, and then…
I learnt to love myself

In the face of your silence
I was stifled, and then…
I found my own voice

In the face of your weakness
I foundered, and then…
I found my own strength

In the face of your dishonesty
I doubted myself, and then…
I found my own truth

Photo – You have to face the Truth, originally uploaded by Vesuviano – Nicola De Pisapia.

 

4 responses to “Songs to heal a broken heart – the eye of the paradox

  1. I am quite impressed with the second one! It works very well as a poem. Thank you for posting that!

  2. Like them both, but particularly love the first one. It will definitely be one of the pillars of your “Songs to heal a broken heart”! Wonderful!

  3. Pingback: The eye of the paradox- version 1 « Bitter-Sweet Journey

  4. Pingback: The eye of the paradox – version 2 « Bitter-Sweet Journey

Leave a comment