alchemy of flame

lost in a labyrinth of mirrors
the lives I chose not to live
tease me with their gold-red glitter
and against their glazed silence
the cries of long-faded passion echo
suffering and joy indistinguishable

where is the thread to guide me?

I have been seeking that tantric alchemy
that transforms the bitter almond tang
of old love’s pain into rich bright mead
now the drink simmers before me
its scent brims with sweet intoxication
saying wisdom has tempered the poison

does temptation cloud my seeing?

in the crucible metal shivers and curdles
before melting in consummation
to be shaped by the whim of the vessel
into which it once chose to throw itself
the first hot breath of that forging
traces my skin with sensual intent

should I give myself to the fire?

This started with a readwritepoem prompt about other lives… and took off in an unexpected direction.

The photo is Goblet of cognac, originally uploaded by Andrejs Jegorovs.

13 responses to “alchemy of flame

  1. First, that photo is a real find, Lirone. Second, your poem is an even better find. Can I republish both on my blog?

    • You’re welcome to republish the poem, Paul. The photo’s not mine but it was marked as available for blogging on Flickr so should be fine to use with a credit back to the original.

  2. Pingback: “Alchemy of Flame” by Lirone « Café Philos: an internet café

  3. I like the labyrinth of mirrors, very good image, the whole poem is well worth reading again.

  4. Wow! That is a transformative piece of brilliance.

  5. Hot. Sensual. And I think the photo matches the poem well.

  6. i like the quest for that “thing,” for that one thing that makes the difference, makes the magic, changes things.

  7. Beautiful swirling language brings me there. I especially liked ‘bitter almond” as a taste sensation. It’s nice to read so much taste, in fact!

  8. Phew, the tantric alchemy verse does it for me although, I love that word ‘crucible’ … this is HOT!

    The NaisaiKu.. Challenge!

  9. I also like crucible (i’m teaching the play now and so I really enjoy seeing it). I really like the hints of regret and temptation mingling at the beginning.

  10. Pingback: cold flame, dry potion « Words that sing

  11. your poem is an extraordinary exploration of personal character

Leave a Reply

