Winter morning

I jounce past the birse
Of hedges griseous with frost
Where cold throstles sike.

This haiku is based on the friday five at poefusion, where Michelle is challenging us to write a poem with the following rather unusual words:

jounce – to move with a jolting motion
birse – bristle or bristles
griseous – dappled with grey
throstle – a thrush
sike – to sigh (among other things)

7 responses to “Winter morning

  1. Lirone, I wouldn’t mind walking past this scene in a rather bundled up way. Your haiku exudes coldness but, is beautifully written. Have a nice day.

  2. I think as long as you kept jouncing you’d probably just about be warm enough!

  3. Sorry Lirone. I just cannot resist asking. Why? A haiku has so few words, you’ve been given five of them. What is the point of this exercise, I wonder? Sorry, but I’m fascinated to hear your perspective on this.

  4. Fundamentally it’s an enjoyable game that challenges both my imagination and my ability to use words.

    Five unrelated words – what do they convey? How could these things possibly be linked? What story or scene can my imagination come up with that makes these randomly chosen words seem to fit together?

    And, as someone who tends to write long and indulgently, how can I convey that scene with as little padding of my own as possible?

    Different prompts take me in different directions – some of my friday five responses have elicited a deeply personal poem, some have been more humourous – sometimes, as here, the same set of words have provoked two very different poems.

    What I like about prompts is the way they so often take me to places I hadn’t thought of going, but where, I find, I have something I want to say.

    And even if that’s not the case, I find it an intriguing game, where the product is less important than the process and what I learn from it.

  5. I see, that helps a lot. Thankyou. It will be interesting to see if there is significant variation between the reponses to the prompt and the answers to my question. I will go ask a few more people and see what happens. Thanks again.

  6. This is great. I love those words.

  7. Nice! Interesting that you included the meanings of the challenge words here. I used the secondary use for most of them which made sike a dry stream and birse became anger. ‘Twas a fun experiment!

Leave a Reply

