Beauty


Like a tree in bright green bud, a child, even newly born
Delights the eyes with a simple beauty it’s hard not to adore.
Small limbs’ quest to walk and run drives a perfection of form
But growing up, they somehow learn a desperate need for more.

Struggling for light and air like jungle parasites
Beauties strive obsessively to be the fashion queen
And see the glamour of their faces lit by dazzling lights.
But envy, greed and artifice kill the beauty that is unseen.

Piercing, plucking, preening and perming, delicate daubing with dye
Gel and heat conspiring to tame long hair’s luxuriant coils
Applying torture devices even to the lashes of the eye!
All obscuring the natural beauty that time cannot despoil.

The softer light of real beauty shines gently from inside
And has nothing to do with the brilliant glare of tungsten or halide

This sonnet was inspired by the picture above, the Monday Mural at Poefusion, which is by Alizarin at Deviant Art. You can see what other poets have made of the same prompt in the comments at Poefusion.

And I’m celebrating, because I’ve completed my own NaPoWriMo – thirty-one poems in the month of July – three days early! It’s been an interesting journey to write so prolifically, but really hasn’t been a struggle, particularly with the help of some excellent prompts (look at the rainbow of prompt links in my sidebar!). Some of the poems are weaker than others, and they would all benefit from more polishing. But I’ve learnt a lot about writing in the process – and had a lot of fun expressing some ideas that interest me, or matter deeply. Which is really the point!

11 responses to “Beauty

  1. This reminds me so much of my teen-age years! To preserve that natural beauty…Well done. Thanks.

  2. Great way to go!

    I do not bother. Never have. I got lustrous hair and skin!

    😀

    weed it out

  3. The tragic hunt for what’s already there and lost in the chaos of the search. Well done.

  4. Oooohhhhh!!!! Love this, love this, love this!

    -Nicole

  5. Ooh, I really like this, Lirone. I’ve never liked makeup or do dollying my hair up. I’m a strong believer in bringing out the natural beauty. Very nice job. Have a nice day.

  6. Thanks for all your encouraging comments – don’t think I’ve ever had two “ooohs” for one post before!

    Raven – a very succinct summary!

    Michelle, I think you’re spot on there. It’s not that makeup and grooming and taking care of appearance is wrong (I’d be a hypocrite if I claimed that!) – indeed sometimes it can be a way of expressing or bringing out natural beauty.

    But becoming obsessed with appearance at the cost of everything else, or being unable to leave the house without makeup on, destroys what it was meant to enhance in the first place!

  7. I love your take on the image! Some of the lines are fantastic….”even to the lashes of the eye.”

  8. Jenn – thanks for your comment. I’ve always thought that eyelash curlers were barbaric implements!

  9. Congratulations to you on reaching your worthy goal.

    I so agree with the sentiment of your poem, BTW. 🙂
    I wish I had been content with my own beauty when I was younger, rather than focusing on my flaws. It’s a silly way to be.

  10. fascinating image and wow–to close there with tungsten and halide!

    congrats on writing 31 poems in July! are you ready to take on the 315 experiment and write 31 poems in the middle of the night???

  11. Joyce – by the sound of it you’re more aware of your own beauty and less aware of the flaws these days, which is a great way to be!

    Artpredator – I was quite pleased when I managed to end the poem that way! And while I’m still producing poems at a rather fast rate, I’m not sure I’m up for writing in the middle of the night… good luck to you and the other brave souls who are!

Leave a Reply

