Song to the moon

Click here to listen to a recording I made recently

Pisen Rusalky O Mesiku (Song of the Moon), Rusalka’s aria from Rusalka

Mesiku na nebi hlubokem…………O moon, high in the heavens
Svetlo tvé daleko vidi,………………Your light sees far,
Po svete bloudis sirokém………….You travel around the wide world
Divas se v pribytky lidi…………….Gazing into human dwellings

Mesicku, postuj chvili ……………. O, moon, stand still a while
reckni mi, kde je muj mily………..Tell me, where is my love?

Rekni mu, stribmy mesicku,……..Tell him, silvery moon
me ze jej objima rame,……………..That I embrace him tightly,
aby si alespon chvilicku……………That he should for at least a while
vzpomenul ve sneni na mne………Remember his dreams!

Zasvet mu do daleka,……………….Shine on him, wherever he is
rekni mu, kdo tu nan ceka!………Tell him I am here waiting!

O mneli duse lidska sni,……………If he is dreaming of me,
at’se tou vzpominkou vzbudi!…..Awaken his memories
Mesicku, nezhasni, nezhasni!……O, moon, don’t disappear!

4 responses to “Song to the moon

  1. Thanks for these words. I just listened to Karita Mattila singing this on youtube – wow! Here’s the link if you’re interested

  2. What an awesome photo! How did you take it?

  3. Glad you like the photo, Nita.

    I live on the 23rd floor so have a great view of both the city and the mountain. I’d noticed the moon rising closer and closer to the mountain as it got fuller, and so made a point of being around at moonrise the next night.

    Then I just played around with different exposures until I got a shot I liked – in the end it was about a 15 second exposure – with the camera on the windowsill for stability!

  4. que preciosa interpretacion me puedo pasar oyendola horas y horas…es un tema inolvidable para el amor…

Leave a Reply

