Introversion and extroversion


You Are 50% Extrovert, 50% Introvert


You’re a bit outgoing, a bit reservedLike most people, you enjoy being socialBut you also value the time you have alone

You have struck a good balance!

 

The introversion/extroversion continuum is an interesting one for me. I’m sure most people who meet me think I’m pretty outgoing and extroverted… I’m generally pretty comfortable socially, and I have some key extrovert traits like liking to think out loud. And on most tests (e.g. Myers-Briggs) I come out towards the E side of the continuum (I cheated slightly to get the graphic above!). But I am also very comfortable alone, spending time with books and my imagination. Indeed I need time alone… and can get irritable if for some reason I don’t get the space I need. But I need company, too, or I eventually start feeling a bit low.

2 months ago I arrived in a new place where I effectively know nobody, and I’m interested to watch how I react. I am aware that I’m letting opportunities go by to meet new people, that I could be more proactive and that, if I did, I might indeed enjoy myself more because I would be getting a better balance of company and solitude.

Part of this is that my job leaves me tired and I do need some down time. My job is quite interpersonally challenging – for reasons which make it difficult to have a real social connection with the people who work in my team. And also leaves me needing to refill on solitude in my spare time. Also, after a week working in Spanish, I often find I want to be in English for a while, which rather limits the options

But there’s also a element of laziness – it’s just easier to stay at home, and read, and write, and sing. Going out takes organisation and planning, and sometimes I’m just too tired to organise in advance!

And, if I’m honest, there’s just a tinge of worry that people won’t want to hear from me, or meet up. Silly, but present at the back of my mind, even though I know it’s for no good reason.

It’s also strange to know that I’m only going to be here until the end of September, so there’re limited opportunities to really develop lasting friendships.

Still, I think it would be good for me to learn to shift my balance a bit more towards making the effort to meet people – not least if I wish to find a new partner (though now would be a bad time to meet someone because I know I have to leave soon!) I always do find myself energised by spending time with friends, so effort is perhaps the wrong word. Perhaps it’s just about trying to be a bit more proactive.

Excuse me, I have some phonecalls to make…

One response to “Introversion and extroversion

  1. Pingback: Living outside the comfort zone « Words that sing

Leave a Reply

