I’ll not complain (Ich grolle nicht)

Click here to listen to this recording

I’ll not complain, even though my heart is breaking.
Love forever lost to me, I’ll not complain.
Although you shine with the brilliance of a diamond,
No light relieves the darkness of your heart:
I feel as if I’ve always known it.
I’ll not complain, even though my heart is breaking:
I saw you in a dream,
I saw the darkness inside you,
I saw the snake that devours your heart,
I saw, my love, how very miserable you are!
I’ll not complain, I’ll not complain.

(Ich grolle nicht, from Schumann’s Dichterliebe)

I’ve finally mastered the technology to post recordings of my singing on this blog (well, almost – I could do with a proper microphone!). And it seemed appropriate to start with this song, which captures the mixture of pain and compassion that I feel towards my ex. The fact that I can now sing this without choking up shows just how far I’ve come in the healing process. Hope you enjoy it…

Leave a Reply

