Freedom of speech – a poem for Bloggers Unite for Human Rights day

Bloggers Unite

My offering for Bloggers Unite for Human Rights day:

If banned from speaking, the soul will die,
And each stifled voice starves the world of life
What choice is it – to be silent or lie?
If banned from speaking, the soul will die.
From the smallest domestic unuttered cry
To the greatest source of political strife.
If banned from speaking, the soul will die,
And each stifled voice starves the world of life.

 

9 responses to “Freedom of speech – a poem for Bloggers Unite for Human Rights day

  1. Wonderful poem! And so very true.

  2. Pingback: Bloggers Unite | Focus Organic.com

  3. Thanks for taking part. I’ve never tried a triolet before. Maybe I’ll give it a try. I thought this line was really intense and true

    If banned from speaking, the soul will die,

  4. This was my first triolet too! Not entirely sure why I went for this form… but it seemed to work.

  5. I think you did a great job, not at all smug or frivolous. You captured that Thomas Hardy feel. Well done!

  6. Great job.

  7. Hi,

    I really admire your sentiments and motivation in writing this poem.

    Thanks for releasing it under a share and remix CC license.

    I have setup a blog dedicated to responses and modifications of it as part of a university poetry assignment.

    It would be really cool if you could post something there 🙂

    Best regards,
    Robin.

  8. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, watch south park online

Leave a Reply

