You (patchwork poem)

You roam the world with a wordly glee,
soaking in the rain of people and their fragrances.

I met your glance and you too mine –

After a decade long hiatus
my spirit at once did lift,
drifting through the air.

you
me
lightly caressing each other’s arms and shoulders
you brought me to the edge of free

and for your price you asked for
spiritual rebirth –
with intent to trample.

How can I outrun
dream maker and dream?

As waning sun gave way to moon
I was spinning – hard and fast-
against myself.
Flesh sold for a pittance.
A tattered soul.

Even if you have ancient wisdom,
it wasn’t much.

 

This is a patchwork poem, using lines by gautami tripathy, lissa, writerwoman, mariacristina and paisley. You can find out more about patchwork poems, and read what others have made of the same source material, on the Patchwork Poetry blog.

Last time round I promised I’d try to write a patchwork poem without changing a single word. I almost managed it – two pronouns in one line which were very necessary for the story I wanted to tell! 

7 responses to “You (patchwork poem)

  1. wow… you did a great job with that.. that ending is perfection…..

  2. I like the result, I really like the first two lines, oh wait, I think the second line’s mine, I didn’t even recognize it, that is how well you have patched and written this poem

  3. One of the things I enjoy about patchwork poems is suddenly coming across lines you’ve written but not recognising them at first!

  4. I agree with Lissa. I did not recognise my own lines!

    Very well patched!

  5. To me this poem tells your story, the one I’ve been reading here, but with a new twist that comes in the last two lines. I hope that means hearts can mend!

  6. Mariacristina, I was initially surprised by your comment because I thought that that twist had been a clear element of the story all along – it’s certainly been in my mind for some time, even if not quite as cattily as it comes out here.

    But looking back I suppose I’ve not actually written about that explicitly. I feel another post coming on….

    Oh, and hearts can certainly mend!

  7. even the patchwork, came out to be good work.

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

