meaning is optional

read-write-poem-111

Below a synaesthete’s numeric rainbow
Daffodils thunder along the roads
Petulant stoats skittle sharply
Past a tigress, smoothing on suncream
And drooling lackadaisically into the dust
I jettison my heart and its whimpering satellite
And my forgotten core hollers with the joy
of metamorphosis

 

I really find it difficult to write poems that don’t make sense. Indeed I do tend to make my points a bit too explicitly, rather than gracefully (poetically?) allusive. So I found this week’s readwritepoem prompt to experiment with nonsense verse quite challenging.

I also drew on their wordle cloud prompt, and tried to jam together some surreal images… at every step trying to resist my mind’s tendency to try and make some sense out of it all.  It was surprisingly hard!

I wouldn’t claim the result has any particular artistic merit, but I’ve posted it as evidence of my struggle…  and because in the process I’ve learnt that a lot of my satisfaction in poeming comes from finding a pattern and making things fit together!

4 responses to “meaning is optional

  1. Phew, what a wonderful opening line!!!

  2. I was also surprised by the difficulty of writing something nonsensical. I do like what you came up with. And, I love “lackadaisically.” Great word.

  3. Your opening line lets the reader know that this is no ordinary world we’re entering. Interesting images.

  4. Reminds me of those fridge magnet poems!

Leave a Reply

