Six months’ worth of writing, living and learning

To celebrate six months of blogging (over 200 posts and nearly 100 poems!), I thought I would share thirteen things I have learnt in that time, many of them directly from blogging:

 

  1. Hearts can heal, and a thoroughly healed heart is stronger than one that has never been broken.

  2. Creativity, particularly new creative projects, is a great way not just to recover from a broken heart, but to grow immeasurably from the experience.

  3. Writing doesn’t have to be a solitary activity – and sharing drafts with an understanding audience is a great way to keep motivated.
  4. Writing things in a public forum, even to a small audience of people whose faces I have never seen, is different from just writing them for yourself – and it can be much more healing.
  5. Sometimes the things I don’t want to say are the ones I most need to say. Sometimes the things I don’t want to say are also what others are most interested in hearing

  6. Free writing practices often produce some of my best writing… and paradoxically often my most structured writing too. And I’m increasingly realising that the ideas and experiences that go into my poems are strong enough to stand as free verse. I enjoy playing with different structures, but I can have more confidence in the interest of my own voice. 

  7. It’s better to say too much than to be too vague to be understood – even if you have to clarify what you meant, or soothe someone’s agitation, you’re communicating. And being so tolerant of other people’s views and beliefs that we don’t express our own is almost always counterproductive – and leads to much less interesting discussions.

  8. It’s far too easy to accept arguments and evidence that supports your conclusion, and not notice the obvious flaws. Reading and participating in the debates in the blogosphere has made me very aware of this, and hopefully made me a more honest debater!

  9. There are some wonderful people out there in the blogosphere…. as well as a lot of people who can’t string a coherent sentence together. Many people out there have had lives incredibly more difficult and complicated than mine has been. I’ve been touched and moved and shocked by some of the things I’ve read. I don’t know whether bloggers are more likely to have trauma in their past, or whether it’s just that in the blogosphere, people tell stories that you would normally hear only from your closest friends. Either way, thank you all for increasing my awareness and understanding of what it is to be human.

  10. Finding my own words to express myself is, right now, more important to me than singing the music and words written by others, however beautiful and powerful.

  11. Always follow your dreams can be a good principle, but it can also be a trap that leaves us struggling and miserable, feeling like failures or forcing ourselves to do things that just aren’t right any more. So it’s important to leave room for both you and your dreams to change and grow.

  12. This last year has been an intense time – difficult in many ways, but I don’t regret a moment of it. I have learnt so much and grown so much, that it’s a hundred times worth all the tears and the pain of heartbreak.

  13. Writing means far less without readers – so thank you all!

7 responses to “Six months’ worth of writing, living and learning

  1. #9 stands out to me because that was the first lesson I learned when I started blogging. There are so many stories I’ve read that have opened my heart in ways I didn’t think were possible.

  2. I love hearing about your insights. First, 200 posts in six months seems like a huge amount to me. Does it to you?

    Second, many of these insights truly ring a bell for me — #s 5 and 6 I’m especially fond of.

  3. i agree whole heartedly with you on almost every point… when i started writing,, it never occurred to me that people would actually read what i was writing,, but i am ever so pleased that they are… what a gift this is,, our shared experience… it seems to me often much more real than those we have in real life,, where we remain guarded and safely behind our masks……

  4. All good lessons. 🙂

    #10 and 11 stood out for me. #10 because my restlessness and dissatisfaction with my own blog may have something to do with not using my own words. Before I discovered photography, I used words. Now I’m trying to figure out a way to balance words (my own) and pictures.

    #11 because it may be the solution to #10.

    Congratulations on your 6 month blogiversary! 🙂

  5. This is a list worth keeping and re-reading time and again! Very well done – and numbers 2, 5, and 11, resonate particularly with me.

    Thanks for stopping by Write on Wednesday!
    It was wonderful meeting you 🙂

  6. It has been 8 months for me, 6 since I started posting the image prompts. Since I work somewhat in isolation I thought blogging might be a way to plug into a community of artists and writers. The community and feedback have been amazing. I see myself and my work in new light. The experience has been useful, affirming and valuable and has brought me out of myself. It has stimulated a lot personal growth. Very surprising, I didn’t expect this.

    I agree with you that we need to hold our dreams lightly, allow them to change and grow as our circumstances change and we grow.

    Congratulations on your six months and your growth and progress. I know a lot of hard work has been taking place under the surface.

  7. Thanks everyone for your supportive comments. Sorry to take a while responding – I remember typing responses to some of the comments but they seem to have vanished into the ether!

    200 posts is quite a lot, I agree – but I’ve never forced myself to write to try to keep to a schedule. It seemed I just had 200 posts worth of things I wanted to say… and no real sign of the well running dry yet!

    Robin – I love your pictures and your choice of quotes is often delightful. But I would also love to hear your own words!

    Rick – it has surprised me, too, just how much support and inspiration there is out here in the blogosphere – like plugging into a network of creative electicity! Writing in private can be powerful, but writing in public to a sympathetic and informed audience can increase the growth opportunities to an amazing extent.

Leave a comment